2019 Award Recipients

Please join us on Tuesday, October 22, 2019 at 7:00 pm for the centerpiece of our Conference, a moving tribute to those individuals who have been nominated and selected by their peers for extraordinary service in the opioid treatment community. These successful Award recipients have devoted themselves to improving the lives of patients in our treatment system. Dr. Vincent Dole and Dr. Marie Nyswander were the first recipients of this Award in 1983. The Association has been responsible for bestowing this honor since the first Regional Conference of 1984 in New York.

The 2019 American Association for the Treatment of Opioid Dependence Conference recognizes outstanding contributions to opioid treatment by honoring individuals with the Nyswander/Dole Award. The Nyswander/Dole “Marie” Awards will be presented by Icro Maremmani, MD.

Howard Ashkin, MMH

Director of Access Services and Community Engagement
MedMark Treatment Centers

Marc Auriacombe, MD
Team Leader and Medical Director
University of Bordeaux and CH Charles Perrens

John Brooklyn, MD
Medical Director
BAART St. Albans and Howard Center Burlington Vermont

Rochelle Head-Dunham, MD, FAPA
Executive and Medical Director
Metropolitan Human Services Board

Stephen Maulhardt, CPA
Executive VP of Policy Government and Public Affairs
Aegis Treatment Centers, LLC

Tracey Nicolosi, LMHC
VP of Addiction Treatment Services
Lahey Health Behavioral Services

Alan Oberman, MSW
John Brooks Recovery Center

Lauren Siembab, MS, LADC
Opioid Services Coordinator and SOTA
Connecticut Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services

The prestigious Friend of the Field Award was established by AATOD’s Board of Directors. This award recognizes extraordinary contributions to the field of opioid treatment by an individual whose work, although not directly related to opioid treatment, has had a significant impact on our field. The 2019 Friend of the Field Award is awarded to:

Gilberto Gerra, MD
Chief of Drug Prevention and Health Branch
United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime

Richard Lane was a long-term heroin user who, upon release from prison in 1967, was instrumental in establishing one of the Nation’s first methadone treatment programs. In 1974, he became the Executive Director of Man Alive and later served as Vice President of the American Methadone Treatment Association and as Vice Chairman of the Governor’s Council on Alcohol and Drug Abuse in Maryland. Mr. Lane was a passionate advocate for methadone treatment and, by disclosing his own treatment experiences, provided inspiration to patients and colleagues alike. Robert Holden was also a recovering heroin user, who later became the Director of PIDARC, an outpatient methadone treatment program in the District of Columbia. He later served as the Vice President of AATOD, succeeding Richard Lane’s term of office. This award was established in 1995 and recognizes extraordinary achievements in patient advocacy. The 2019 Richard Lane/Robert Holden Patient Advocacy Award is awarded to Zachary Talbott.

Zachary Talbott, ICADC, CCS
Director of Clinical Services
ReVIDA Recovery Centers

Visit the aatod conference website for more details…www.aatodconference.com.

If you work at an opioid treatment program, we want to hear from you! Please share your experiences in a video to highlight how wraparound services contribute to successful #OUD recovery:
https://ow.ly/L6bI50QGS9W for mobile
https://ow.ly/L6bI50QGS9W for web

Load More...

#aatod2024 Conference – Las Vegas


2024 Conference

225 Varick Street, Suite 402
New York, New York 10014

Contact Us
Phone : 212-566-5555
Email : info@aatod.org

Social Sharing
Follow by Email
Stay Connected to AATOD